Change of subject

Do you actually enjoy studying, but the subject isn’t right?

You are not alone in doubting your type of degree programme, as 12 per cent of all graduates and even 26 per cent of all early leavers would actually have preferred to have studied a different subject (Fig. 1).

Early leavers

 

  • Preferred subject
  • No preferred subject
  • Different preferred subject

Graduates

 

  • Preferred subject
  • No preferred subject
  • Different preferred subject

Source: DZHW Student Early Leaver Study 2016

Fig. 1: Compliance with the preferred studies of early university leavers and graduates

Which way do you want it to go?

Are you still sure that you want to study, but you haven’t yet found the direction you want to go in? Even if it is possible that there are deadlines for enrolment and you are under time pressure, it is still important to devote enough time and space to reorientation. The choice of the new subject should be carefully considered and based on your personal interests and strengths.

Typical questions you can ask yourself when choosing your type of degree programme are:

  • What are my interests?
  • What do I like to do in my spare time?
  • What are my hobbies?
  • Which topics do I read in magazines/newspapers or watch on YouTube?
  • If I take a step back and look at my answers with a little impartiality, what do they stand for? (For example: Ballet -> discipline, structure, working on subtleties; planning parties -> organisation, time management, imagination)

The answers to these questions can help you identify your own interests. A subsequent look at the job market can then also be helpful. You may find out about a number of (new) professional careers which you didn’t know about before. It is also helpful to reflect on the framework conditions of a profession: Do I want to be employed or work as a freelancer? Would I rather work in the office or in production/laboratory/shop etc.? Which working time models are typical in the industry and which of them suit me?

If placed side by side, personal interests and a look at potential occupations often provide good search criteria for suitable degree programmes. With the right subject you can resume your studies, this time with renewed motivation and enthusiasm.

NEXT STEP niederrhein also offers neutral coaching at all four university campuses which can help you. With targeted questions and methods we help you identify your wishes and possibilities, to specify them in more detail and, in the best case, to make a decision. We can establish contacts to specialist offices and contact persons as required.

How can I find the right degree programme?

The Central Student Advice Service (ZSB) of your university will provide you with detailed information about its degree programmes and will also offer advice on how to make a decision.

Even if you have already decided which subject you want to switch to, you should still contact the ZSB to find out about the new degree programme. You often have to reapply if you switch to a new subject. The application deadlines must be observed. If your own university or a nearby university offers the new subject, it is often possible to attend a lecture as a guest to see what it’s like. Please contact the faculty and/or the lecturer if you are interested in taking a look at what lectures entail.

If you start a new degree programme, it usually means that you have to reapply!

As an alternative and/or in addition to the ZSB, you can also search online for the new degree programme:

  • At University Compass, the information portal of the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK), the universities provide up-to-date information on their degree programmes.
  • The Federal Employment Agency, the Agentur für Arbeit, has an overview website which leads you step by step to the right course of study.
  • The website studienwahl.de provides detailed information on a number of degree programmes. The site is operated by the Agentur für Arbeit and the Stiftung für Hochschulzulassung (University Admissions Foundation).

Studienfachwechsel

Eigentlich macht Dir das Studieren Spaß, aber das Fach passt nicht?

Mit Zweifeln am Studienfach bist Du nicht alleine: 12% aller Absolvent/innen hätten eigentlich lieber ein anderes Studienfach studiert und sogar 26% aller Studienabbrecher/innen (Abbildung 1).

Studienabbrecher

 

  • Preferred subject
  • No preferred subject
  • Different preferred subject

Absolventen

 

  • Preferred subject
  • No preferred subject
  • Different preferred subject

Quelle: DZHW-Studienabbruchstrudie 2016

Abbildung 1: Verwirklichung des Studienwunsches bei Studienabbrechern und Absolventen

In welche Richtung soll es gehen?

Für Dich steht fest, dass es nach wie vor ein Studium sein soll, aber die neue Richtung hast Du noch nicht gefunden? Auch wenn ggfls. Einschreibefristen bevorstehen und Eile geboten ist, ist es wichtig, der Neuorientierung unbedingt genügend Raum zu gegeben. Die Wahl des neuen Studienfaches sollte wohlüberlegt sein und in Anlehnung an Deine persönlichen Interessen und Stärken erfolgen.

Typische Fragen, die Du Dir bei der Studienwahl stellen kannst, lauten:

  • Was sind meine Interessen?
  • Was mache ich gerne in meiner Freizeit?
  • Welche Hobbies habe ich?
  • Welche Themengebiete lese ich in Zeitschriften/Zeitungen oder sehe ich mir bei YouTube an?
  • Wenn ich meine Antworten mit ein bisschen Abstand betrachte, wofür stehen die Antworten jeweils? (Beispielsweise: Ballett -> Disziplin, Struktur, Arbeiten an Feinheiten; Partys planen -> Organisation, Zeitmanagement, Phantasie)

Die Antworten auf diese Fragen können Dir dabei helfen, Deine eigenen Interessen zu finden. Anschließend hilft ein Blick auf den Arbeitsmarkt: Hier sind viele (neue) Berufstätigkeiten möglich, die oft nicht bekannt sind. Zudem hilft eine Reflektion über die Rahmenbedingungen einer Tätigkeit: Möchte ich angestellt oder freiberuflich arbeiten? Möchte ich eher im Büro oder lieber in der Fertigung/Labor/Geschäft etc. arbeiten? Welche Arbeitszeitmodelle sind typisch in der Branche und welche davon passen für mich?

Nebeneinander gelegt ergeben die persönlichen Interessen und der Blick auf potentielle Tätigkeiten oft gute Suchkriterien für passende Studiengänge. Mit dem richtigen Fach kannst Du dann auch wieder motiviert und mit Begeisterung studieren.

NEXT STEP niederrhein bietet auch hierzu ein neutrales Coaching  an allen vier Standorten der Hochschulen an. Durch gezielte Fragen und Methoden begleiten wir Dich dabei, Deine Wünsche und Möglichkeiten zu finden, einzugrenzen und im besten Falle eine Entscheidung zu treffen. Bedarfsgerecht können wir Kontakte zu Fachstellen und Ansprechpartner/innen herstellen.

Wie den richtigen Studiengang finden?

Die Zentrale Studienberatung (ZSB) Deiner Hochschule informiert Dich ausführlich über ihre Studiengänge und bietet zudem auch Beratung zur Orientierung bei der Entscheidungsfindung an.

Auch wenn für Dich schon feststeht, in welches Fach Du wechseln willst, solltest Du Dich bei der ZSB über den neuen Studiengang informieren. Oft muss man sich bei einem Fachwechsel neu bewerben. Hierbei sind die Bewerbungsfristen zu beachten. Wenn Deine eigene Hochschule, oder eine Hochschule/Universität in der Nähe das neue Fach anbietet, ist es oft möglich, in eine Vorlesung ‚hereinzuschnuppern‘. Sprich doch dafür mal den Fachbereich und/oder den Dozenten bzw. die Dozentin an.

Ein neuer Studiengang bedeutet in der Regel, dass Du Dich wieder neu bewerben musst!

Du kannst als Alternative und/oder in Ergänzung zur ZSB auch online nach dem neuen Studiengang suchen:

  • Beim Hochschulkompass, dem Informationsportal der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK), bieten die Hochschulen tagesaktuelle Informationen zu ihren Studiengängen an.
  • Die Agentur für Arbeit hat eine Überblickseite, die Schritt für Schritt zum passenden Studium leitet.
  • Auf den Seiten studienwahl.de sind viele Studiengänge übersichtlich beschrieben. Die Seite wird zusammen von der Agentur für Arbeit und der Stiftung für Hochschulzulassung betrieben.