Project

The ‘NEXT STEP niederrhein’ project is aimed at students who are having doubts about their studies or who are playing with the idea of leaving university altogether. The subject, the university or even studying as a form of learning can be generally questioned.

Die Projekt-Verantwortlichen: Stefanie Winde, Dr. Silke Höfle, Désirée Krüger (vlnr)

In Germany, 27 per cent of all Bachelor students at universities of applied sciences drop out without a degree. The three most common reasons for this are performance problems during studies (30% of early leavers), lack of motivation to study (17%) and the desire for more practical work (15%; DZHW Student Early Leaver Study 2016 by Heublein et al.).

Performance problems
Lack of motivation
Desire for more practical work

Early leavers

In their day-to-day life, students quite often doubt their choice to study, and in the best case these doubts help them determine their current position, check their intended path and make a course correction if necessary. This is where ‘NEXT STEP niederrhein’ comes in with its various orientation tools and aids. With this website we offer students the opportunity to a gauge their position without any time or location restraints, find important information and also help to deal with their doubts. Students can decide which information they need and if they need personal help, they can find information about contact persons. We offer unsure students individual coaching and accompany them throughout their reorientation process and also, if they decide to leave university, help them find a new perspective. The project also focuses on developing additional and new forms of assistance for dealing with doubts during studying and also leaving university before their degree programmes are finished, e.g. materials for self-reflection and special seminars at the university campuses. If you have doubts about your studies, you will be given support at an early stage to help you obtain your degree or find suitable career alternatives. Furthermore ‘NEXT STEP niederrhein’ would also like to inform companies about the potential of early university leavers.

The four project objectives

Transparency

Transparent information on perspectives and options for unsure students and the services of a counselling network

Coaching

Individual coaching options and thematic group events for unsure students

Recognition

Expanding the possibilities for recognition and crediting of academic achievements if students switch universities or commence training

Breaking taboos

Breaking the taboo of doubting the decision to study and breaking off a degree programme within general society and the university

Project management

Implementation, planning and responsibility for the project lies jointly with the Rhine-Waal (HSRW) and Niederrhein (HN) universities, which act as project partners in the network. At the HSRW the project is led by Stefanie Winde and at the HN jointly by Désirée Krüger and Dr Silke Höfle.

Stefanie Winde (HSRW) and Désirée Krüger (HN) are responsible for coaching and internal university questions. Stefanie Winde (HSRW) and Dr Silke Höfle (HN) are the contact persons for cooperation projects and events. If you have any questions on the project, we would be pleased to assist you.

Das Projekt

Das Projekt ‚NEXT STEP niederrhein‘ richtet sich an Studierende, die Zweifel an ihrem Studium haben oder mit dem Gedanken des Studienausstieges spielen. Dabei kann das Fach, die Hochschule oder auch das Studium als Lernform generell hinterfragt werden.

Die Projekt-Verantwortlichen: Stefanie Winde, Dr. Silke Höfle, Désirée Krüger (vlnr)

In Deutschland brechen 27% aller Bachelor-Studierenden an Fachhochschulen ihr Studium ohne einen Abschluss ab. Die drei häufigsten Gründe dafür sind Leistungsprobleme im Studium (30% der Abbrecher/innen), mangelnde Studienmotivation (17%) und der Wunsch nach einer praktischen Tätigkeit (15%; DZHW-Studienabbruchsstudie 2016 von Heublein et al.).

Leistungsprobleme
Mangelnde Motivation
Wunsch nach praktischer Arbeit

Studienabbrecher

Studienzweifel gehören nicht selten zum Alltag von Studierenden und helfen im besten Falle dabei, den persönlichen Standort zu bestimmen, den geplanten Weg zu überprüfen und gegebenenfalls eine Kurskorrektur vorzunehmen. An dieser Stelle setzt ‘NEXT STEP niederrhein‘ mit diversen Orientierungshilfen an. Mit dieser Internetseite bieten wir eine erste orts- und zeitunabhängige Orientierung, sowie wichtige Informationen und Hilfsangebote zu Studienzweifeln an. Studierende können entscheiden, welche Informationen sie benötigen und finden im Bedarfsfalle konkrete Ansprechpartner/innen. Wir bieten Studienzweifler/innen durch individuelles Coaching eine Prozessbegleitung bis hin zum eventuellen Studienausstieg mit einer passenden Perspektive an. Darüber hinaus entwickelt das Projekt weitere und neue Hilfen zum Thema Studienzweifel und Studienaussteig, wie z. B. Selbstreflexionsmaterial und themenspezifische Seminare an den Hochschulstandorten. Bei aufkommenden Studienzweifeln wird frühzeitig Unterstützung für einen erfolgreichen Studienabschluss angeboten oder es können passende berufliche Alternativen entwickelt werden. Desweiten möchte ‘NEXT STEP niederrhein‘ auch Unternehmen über die Potentiale von Studienausteiger/innen informieren.

Die vier Projektziele

Transparenz

Transparente Darstellung von Perspektiven und Möglichkeiten bei Studienzweifel und Angebot eines Beratungsnetzwerkes

Coaching

Angebot von individuellem Coaching und thematischen Gruppen­ver­an­staltungen für Studienzweifler/innen

Anerkennung

Ausweiten der Möglichkeiten von Anerkennung und Anrechnung von Studienleistungen bei Hochschulwechsel oder Ausbildungsaufnahme

Enttabuisierung

Enttabuisierung von Studienzweifel und Studienausstieg in der (Hochschul-) Öffentlichkeit

Projektleitung

Durchführung, Planung und Verantwortung des Projektes liegt gemeinschaftlich bei den Hochschulen Rhein-Waal (HSRW) und Niederrhein (HN), die als Projektpartner im Verbund auftreten. Das Projekt wird an der HSRW von Stefanie Winde und an der HN gemeinschaftlich von Désirée Krüger und Melanie Oeben geleitet.

Für das Coaching und Hochschul-interne Fragen sind Stefanie Winde (HSRW) und Désirée Krüger (HN) zuständig. Für Kooperationen und Veranstaltungen sind Stefanie Winde (HSRW) und Melanie Oeben (HN) die Ansprechpartnerinnen. Für Fragen zum Projekt stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.