Potential

for early university leavers and business

Around 30 per cent of students in Germany leave university before they obtain their Bachelor’s degree (source: Heublein et al. 2017). The reasons for this vary considerably and range from unfulfilled expectations of the subject they are studying to difficulties in funding their studies and the desire for a more practical approach. It would be wrong to assume that these students will fail – on the contrary. These are young people who are in a professional orientation phase and are therefore potential trainees or employees with a great deal of promise.

The aspects in their favour are:

A high level of education

By acquiring their university entrance qualification, students who have dropped out of university have already successfully won a place at a university. This means that they already have a good standard of education.

Initial academic achievements and experience

Students have always managed to start their studies before they leave. Depending on the level of the specialisation semester, competence in the areas of scientific work, teamwork, independent organisation of working and learning as well as subject-specific topics and content have usually already been acquired. Last but not least, the process of deciding to leave university also involves other important personal skills and experiences.

Expertise gained from the relevant subject of study

If early leavers decide not to study but still want to follow the same career path, they can apply in the various professional fields. You may be able to contribute good to in-depth, state-of-the-art expertise to the company which you can build on directly while you are training.

Higher motivation

As a rule, early university leavers have taken a close look at more suitable alternatives while they were weighing up their options, they are therefore clearer in their choice of career and, as a result, also more motivated. They are often also very grateful to be given a ‘new chance’ and they are therefore highly motivated trainees.

Higher level of maturity

In comparison to school leavers, early university leavers are usually already older and more mature. This means that they are often more independent and have a wider scope of action. They are also more oriented and sounder in their professional decisions.

No return to university

In contrast to trainees who often decide to deepen their knowledge after training, early leavers rarely return to the university and are often kept on by their companies.

Potentiale

Für Abbrecher & Wirtschaft

Rund 30 % der Studierenden in Deutschland verlassen die Hochschule bereits vor dem Bachelor-Abschluss (Quelle: Heublein et al. 2017). Die Gründe hierfür sind vielfältig und reichen von nicht erfüllten Erwartungen an das Studienfach über Schwierigkeiten bei der Studienfinanzierung bis hin zu dem Wunsch eines höheren Praxisbezugs. Es wäre ein Trugschluss, von einem Scheitern der Studierenden auszugehen. Ganz im Gegenteil. Hier handelt es sich um junge Menschen in der beruflichen Orientierungsphase und somit um vielversprechende potentielle Auszubildende oder Mitarbeitende.

Was für Studienaussteiger/innen spricht:

Hohes Ausbildungsniveau

durch das (Fach-)Abitur, bzw. die Hochschulzugangsberechtigung

Studienaussteiger/innen haben bereits einmal einen Studienplatz erfolgreich erworben. Somit verfügen Sie bereits über eine gute Schulbildung.

Erste Studienleistungen und Erfahrungen

Studierende haben vor dem Ausstieg immer einen Studieneinstieg absolviert. Je nach Höhe des Fachsemesters wurden daher in der Regel schon Kompetenzen in den Bereichen wissenschaftliches Arbeiten, Teamarbeit, selbstständige Arbeits- und Lernorganisation sowie fachspezifische Themen und Lerninhalte erworben. Nicht zuletzt bringt der Prozess der Entscheidung zum Studienausstieg weitere wichtige persönliche Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen mit sich.

Fachwissen durch das entsprechende Studienfach

Wenn Studienaussteiger/innen sich gegen das Studium, nicht aber gegen Ihren Berufswunsch entscheiden, bewerben Sie sich in dem entsprechenden Berufsfeld. Somit bringen Sie unter Umständen gutes bis vertieftes Fachwissen auf dem neuesten Stand in das Unternehmen ein und können darauf in der Ausbildung unmittelbar aufbauen.

Erhöhte Motivation

Studienaussteiger/innen haben sich in der Regel während des Prozess des Zweifelns bis hin zur Entscheidung für den Abbruch intensiv mit passenderen Alternativen beschäftigt und sind somit klarer in Ihrer Berufswahl und somit auch motivierter. Nicht zuletzt ist Dankbarkeit für einen „neue Chance“ zu erwarten und es präsentiert sich ein hochmotivierter Auszubildender.

Fortgeschrittene Reife

Im Vergleich zu Schulabgänger/innen sind Studienaussteiger/innen in der Regel schon lebensälter und somit weiter in ihrem Reifungsprozess. Dies lässt eine erhöhte Selbstständigkeit und einen erweiterten Handlungsspielraum zu. Zudem sind sie in beruflichen Entscheidungen besser orientiert und sicherer.

Keine Rückkehr an die Hochschule

Im Gegensatz zu Auszubildenden, die häufig nach der Ausbildung ein vertiefendes Studium anstreben, kehren Studienaussteiger/innen nur selten zurück an die Hochschule und bleiben den Unternehmen häufig erhalten.