Training as an alternative

Dual training combines practice and theory and offers positive career opportunities. There are also many options in the public sector to obtain a state-approved qualification and to pursue a career. If you wish to progress further, numerous advanced training courses are also available.

The dual training system as an initially classic path for vocational training has a successful history in Germany and enjoys an excellent reputation worldwide. It offers you a modern and solid career start in currently 327 trades with very good career prospects. It is therefore often a suitable alternative to studying.

In view of the current shortage of skilled workers, small and medium-sized enterprises in particular are interested in recruiting suitable applicants for training and employment and are willing to invest in the further qualification of their trainees and employees. For this reason, students who have dropped out of university are an attractive target group for these companies. In some cases, recognition of your previous academic achievements or even admission to the final examination without training is possible.
The central feature of dual training is employment and practical training within a company, combined with attendance at a vocational college or college. Training is completed when you have passed a final examination before the competent chamber after which you will receive a state-recognised vocational qualification.
Over the duration of your course of training the company pays you a salary as well as your social security contributions.
You can get competent general advice in our Counselling Network, depending on individual requirements from the Federal Employment Agency, the Chamber of Industry and Commerce or the Chamber of Trade (trades sector).

You can find concrete training positions here:

You can find further information on dual vocational training at  www.studienabbruch-und-dann.de.

 

 

 

With more than 130 state-recognised training occupations, the Federal Government, Germany’s largest employer, also offers a broad spectrum of training and career opportunities for former students after they have left university. In a similar structure to dual education, you receive practical training in public institutions (authorities, offices, etc.) and receive theoretical training.
With your university entrance qualification you also have the opportunity of pursuing one of the currently 30 special training courses for civil servants, e.g. in administration, the police force, customs or the weather service.
The training course is completed with a final examination. During training you are paid in compliance with tariff agreements and social security contributions are also paid for you.

An overview of all training occupations can be found here:

For some occupations, the majority of the required training course takes place educational institutions (vocational colleges or vocational schools). These are, for example, in the health, education and social services the educators, geriatric nurses and nurses or a number of assistant professions (e.g. biological technical assistant). In addition, there are other academic training courses in the fields of business, technology and IT. In total, there are currently around 130 academic training courses. You will also gain additional practical experience in mandatory internships.

As this is not in-company training, there is generally no remuneration. Some training courses are even subject to a fee.  For this reason you should find out in good time whether you are eligible for a state education grant (BAfÖG).

Further information can be obtained from the Federal Employment Agency or at the relevant vocational colleges or vocational schools.

If you have already completed vocational training, then it is possible to obtain additional, advanced qualifications in this field. Qualifications in advanced further training, such as master craftspersons or technicians, are nationally regulated in the Vocational Training Act and prepare you for specialist and management positions. They have a high practical relevance. If necessary, direct admission to a further training examination is even possible.
For this reason you should find out in good time whether you are eligible for a state education grant (BAfÖG). There are also grant options available for the trade master school through the HWK. However, you must be below 25 years of age at the end of your training course and must have an average grade of at least 1.9. Under these conditions, it is possible to apply for a scholarship for gifted students (up to €7,000).

It is advisable to obtain information about financial assistance during training (BAfÖG) in good time.

As an alternative to full-time studies, it is possible to enrol in a dual study programme. This is a combination of practical vocational training in a company and university studies. This very challenging and tightly organised form of acquiring a degree is definitely worthwhile, as there are usually good opportunities for you to be taken on by your company when you have completed your programme.

As a rule, after three to three and a half years you will complete your dual studies with a Bachelor’s degree and a vocational qualification from the relevant chamber. Funding is usually given in the form of training allowances paid by the company, possibly in combination with state subsidies (BAfÖG). The time models for studying and working in the company are quite different.

The Rhine-Waal and Niederrhein Universities offer dual degree programmes. For further information contact the Central Student Advisory Service.

You can find cross-regional dual courses of study here.
You can find dual courses of study offered by the federal government here.

For international students, access to academic or dual courses is subject to various requirements. It is particularly important for students to have a good command of the German language. Please note that counselling is therefore usually offered in German.

www.make-it-in-germany.com

Ausbildung als Alternative

Eine Duale Ausbildung verbindet Praxis und Theorie und bietet gute Berufschancen. Auch im öffentliche Dienst gibt es viele Möglichkeiten, einen staatlich anerkannten Abschluss zu erlangen und Karriere zu machen. Wem das nicht reicht, dem stehen zahlreiche aufbauende Weiterbildungen offen.

Die duale Ausbildung als zunächst klassischer Weg in berufliche Ausbildung hat in Deutschland eine erfolgreiche Geschichte und genießt weltweit einen hervorragenden Ruf. Sie bietet Dir einen modernen und fundierten Berufseinstieg in aktuell 327 Ausbildungsberufe mit sehr guten Karriereperspektiven. Somit ist sie oft eine adäquate Alternative zum Studium.

Im Zuge des aktuellen Fachkräftemangels sind insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen an der Gewinnung geeigneter Bewerber/innen für Ausbildung und Beschäftigung interessiert und bereit, in die Weiterqualifizierung Ihrer Auszubildenden und Mitarbeiter/innen zu investieren. Aus diesem Grund sind Studienaussteiger/innen eine attraktive Zielgruppe für diese Unternehmen. Gegebenenfalls ist eine Anrechnung Deiner bisherigen Studienleistungen oder sogar die Zulassung zur Abschlussprüfung ohne Ausbildung möglich.
Zentrales Merkmal der dualen Ausbildung ist die Beschäftigung und praktische Ausbildung innerhalb eines Unternehmens, kombiniert mit dem Besuch eines Berufskollegs oder einer Berufsfachschule. Die Ausbildung endet durch die Ablegung einer Abschlussprüfung vor der zuständigen Kammer mit einem staatlich anerkannten Berufsabschluss.
Über die Dauer der Ausbildung werden Dir durch das Unternehmen zum einen eine Vergütung bezahlt, und zum anderen die Sozialversicherungsbeiträge abgeführt.
Eine kompetente allgemeine Beratung erhältst Du bei unseren externen Beratungspartnern, je nach Schwerpunkt durch die Agentur für Arbeit, die Industrie- und Handelskammer oder die Handwerkskammer (Handwerklicher Bereich).

Konkrete Ausbildungsplätze findest Du hier:

Weitere Informationen zur dualen Berufsausbildung  findest Du auf der Seite  www.studienabbruch-und-dann.de.

Mit über 130 staatlich anerkannten Ausbildungsberufen bietet der Bund als größter Arbeitgeber Deutschlands ebenfalls ein breites Spektrum an Ausbildungs- und Karrieremöglichkeiten nach dem Studienabbruch. Ähnlich einer dualen Ausbildung wirst Du hier innerhalb öffentlicher Einrichtungen (Behörden, Ämter, etc.) praktisch ausgebildet und nimmst zudem an theoretischem Unterricht teil.
Mit der Hochschulzugangsberechtigung hast Du darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit einen der aktuell 30 speziellen Ausbildungsgänge für die Beamtenlaufbahn einzuschlagen, z. B. in der Verwaltung, bei der Polizei, beim Zoll oder beim Wetterdienst.
Am Ende der Ausbildung steht eine Abschlussprüfung. Vergütet wird die Zeit der Ausbildung nach Tarif und es werden für Dich Sozialversicherungsbeiträge abgeführt.

Eine Übersicht zu allen Ausbildungsberufen findet sich hier:

Bei einigen Berufsbildern findet der Großteil der für den Abschluss notwendigen Ausbildung in schulischen Einrichtungen (Berufskollegs oder Berufsfachschulen) statt. Dies sind z. B. im Gesundheits-, Erziehungs-, und Sozialwesen die Erzieher/innen, Altenpfleger/innen oder Krankenpfleger/innen oder eine Reihe von Assistenten-Berufen (z.B. biologisch technische Assistent/in). Darüber hinaus finden sich weitere schulische Ausbildungsgänge in den Bereichen Wirtschaft, Technik und IT. Insgesamt gibt es aktuell ca. 130 schulische Ausbildungen. Im Rahmen von verpflichtenden Praktika sammelst Du ergänzend dazu Praxiserfahrung.

Da es sich hierbei nicht um eine betriebliche Ausbildung handelt, gibt es in der Regel keine Vergütung. Einige Ausbildungen sind sogar kostenpflichtig.  Du solltest Dich daher rechtzeitig über eine finanzielle Ausbildungsförderung (BAfÖG) informieren.

Weitere Informationen erhältst Du bei der Agentur für Arbeit oder bei den entsprechenden Berufskollegs oder Berufsfachschulen vor Ort.

Hast Du bereits eine abgeschlossene Berufsausbildung, dann ist es möglich, im Bereich dieses Berufszweiges weiterführende Abschlüsse zu erwerben und Dich damit weiter zu qualifizieren. Abschlüsse der Aufstiegsfortbildung, wie z. B. Meister/innen oder Techniker/innen sind im Berufsbildungsgesetz bundeseinheitlich geregelt und bereiten Dich auf Fach- und Führungspositionen vor. Sie weisen einen hohen Praxisbezug auf. Gegebenenfalls ist sogar die Zulassung zu einer Fortbildungsprüfung direkt möglich.
Du solltest Dir rechtzeitig Informationen über eine finanzielle Ausbildungsförderung (BAfÖG) einholen. Im Bereich der Meisterschule im Handwerk gibt es ebenfalls Fördermöglichkeiten über die Handwerkskammer (HWK). Allerdings darf man dazu bei Ausbildungsende noch nicht älter als 25 Jahre sein und muss einen Notendurchschnitt von mindestens 1,9 haben. Dann kommt eine Bewerbung für die Begabtenförderung(bis zu 7.000€) in Frage.

Es empfiehlt sich eine rechtzeitige Information über eine finanzielle Ausbildungsförderung (BAfÖG).

Als Alternative zum Vollzeit-Studium ist es möglich, ein duales Studium zu absolvieren. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Kombination aus praktischer Berufsausbildung in einem Unternehmen und einem Hochschulstudium. Diese sehr anspruchsvolle und straff organisierte Form des Abschlusserwerbs ist durchaus lohnenswert, da in der Regel gute Übernahmemöglichkeiten für Dich im Ausbildungsbetrieb bestehen.

Nach in der Regel drei bis dreieinhalb Jahren schließt Du das Duale Studium mit dem Bachelorabschluss und dem Berufsabschluss bei der zuständigen Kammer ab. Die Finanzierung erfolgt meist über eine Ausbildungsvergütung durch den Betrieb, u. U. in Kombination mit einer staatlichen Förderung (BAfÖG). Dabei sind die Zeitmodelle, wann man studiert und wann man im Betrieb arbeitet, recht unterschiedlich.

Die Hochschulen Rhein-Waal und Niederrhein sind Anbieter für Duale Studiengänge. Informationen hierzu erhältst Du bei den Zentralen Studienberatungen.

Überregionale duale Studiengänge findest Du hier.
Duale Studienangebote des Bundes findest Du hier.

Für internationale Studierende ist der Zugang zu schulischen oder dualen Ausbildungsgängen an verschiedene Voraussetzungen gebunden. Insbesondere ist es erforderlich, die Deutsche Sprache möglichst sicher zu beherrschen. Bitte beachte, dass daher auch die Beratung in der Regel in deutscher Sprache stattfindet.

www.make-it-in-germany.com